What are the 7 chakras and colors, what do they actually mean and how can they help you achieve better health and balance in your life? This is a beginner’s guide to the 7 chakras and their meanings.

7 Chakra Colors Beginners Guide

The 7 chakra colors are the same as the 7 colors of the rainbow, which are red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet.

Each chakra/color represents a part of the human body, ranging from your head to the bottom or route of your spine. While the 7 chakras are associated with physical parts of the body, their meanings go beyond the physical, branching into the psychological and spiritual realms.

Everything in the universe is made up of energy, including life. The system of the 7 chakras is about balancing our energies for stability and good health. The 7 chakras are believed to be able to influence our emotional balance and stability, our instincts, self esteem, how we think, they can also influence our ability to communicate and maintain relationships.

The 7 Chakras

  • 1st Root Chakra: this is located at the base of the torso or spine.
  • 2nd Sacral Chakra: this is the navel, aka belly button.
  • 3rd Solar Plexus Chakra: the upper middle stomach area, just below the rib cage.
  • 4th Heart Chakra: this is obviously the heart area.
  • 5th Throat Chakra: this is primarily the base of the throat.
  • 6th Third Eye Chakra: the centre of the forehead, in-between the eyes.
  • 7th Crown Chakra: this is the top of your head.

The concept of the 7 chakras has Indian origins, and their Indian names are as follows.

  • 1st Muladhara
  • 2nd Svadhishthana
  • 3rd Manipura
  • 4th Anahata
  • 5th Vishudda
  • 6th Ajna
  • 7th Sahasrara

When the 7 Chakras are Unbalanced or too Active

Root/Muladhara – Red

This is very much connected to the balance of our survival instincts, when unbalanced, anxieties can become a problem. It can result in paranoia and a desire to be unseen, perhaps keep hidden. Survival instincts generally become over active.

Creating Balance

Make sure you dedicate some time to taking the proper precautions and security measures, this will help to ease your anxieties and feelings of unease in this matter. Using positive affirmations can also be very effective at reducing anxiety and bringing balance.

Sacral/Svadhishana – Orange

When this chakra is unbalanced someone can struggle with impulsive pleasures and instant gratification.

This is also referred to as reward sensitivity. If too active it can also lead to problems with various types of addiction.

Creating Balance

Make a conscious effort to focus on delayed gratification, and understand the negative consequences of only seeking impulsive pleasures.

Solar Plexus/Manipura – Yellow

The Solar Plexus Chakra is believed to be related to issues of self-esteem. When out of balanced, or sometimes described as being blocked it can result in either minor or major self-esteem issues.

Imbalances in this chakra can also cause issues with controlling anger, and a person can become temperamentally disagreeable, irritable and aggressively competitive.

Creating Balance

One way to counter the self-esteem issue is to use positive confidence building affirmations. Perhaps a better technique would be to really think about and objectify your negative thinking, including anger. When you objectify something it takes away some of the power it has over you, which will hopefully unblock and balance this chakra.

Self awareness is also essential for attaining balance. Relaxation and meditation techniques can help, especially when trying to reduce anger and aggression.

Heart/Anahata – Green

An over active heart chakra can lead to showing too much compassion for others, and neglecting yourself and your own needs.

It can also result in poor decisions and emotional control in matters of love.

Creating Balance

Spend some time thinking about what you want for yourself. Once you have figured out what you want, make an effort to go out and get it. Understand that the better and stronger you are as an individual, the greater help to others you will be.

Throat/Vishuddha – Blue

Over activity in this chakra can lead to being perhaps aggressively vocal, not allowing others to speak, showing arrogance in their tone of voice and generally being over assertive.

Creating Balance

Again self awareness is a good first step, awareness of how you make others feel. Making a conscious effort to showing some humility will go a long way and help to bring balance.

The Third Eye/Ajna – Indigo

If the third eye chakra is more or over active, then someone is relying too much on gaining information from their spiritual, psychic or intuitive side. They won’t be living in the now or paying attention to the information that they get from their five sensors.

This can lead to impractical, even delusional thinking.

Creating Balance

Make a conscious effort to take in information from the five senors, and to experience that information. Live more in the now or moment, and pay attention to details and subtle changes and differences.

Crown/Sahaswara – Violet or White

The crown chakra is linked to different levels of consciousness. The balance of the crown chakra is dependent on the state of the other 6 chakras. To achieve higher levels of consciousness, the other chakras need to be balanced.

When chakras are less active or more dormant they can also be problematic, the key here is balance which creates a healthier mind and body and overall stability.

Similar Posts