What are the 7 chakra colors and their meanings? Looking into how can they help you achieve better health and balance in your life. This guide to the 7 chakras will give real life examples of achieving stability and balance.

Chakra Color Meanings.

The 7 chakra colors are the same as the 7 colors of the rainbow, which are red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet.

Each chakra and color represents a part of the human body, ranging from your head to the bottom or route of your spine. While the 7 chakras are associated with physical parts of the body, their meanings go beyond the physical, branching into the psychological and spiritual realms.

Everything in the universe is made up of energy, including life. The system of the 7 chakras is about balancing our energies for stability and good health. The 7 chakras are believed to be able to influence our emotional balance and stability, our instincts, self-esteem, how we think, and they can also influence our ability to communicate and maintain relationships.

7 Chakra Colors & Meanings

1: Root Chakra Color Meaning (Muladhara)

Color: Red

Red Root Chakra.

Located at the base of the torso or spine. Its meaning is to do with our foundations, which includes our security and stability.

2: Sacral Chakra Color Meaning (Svadhishthana)

Color: Orange

Orange Sacral Chakra.

Located at the navel, aka belly button. Its meanings are connected to our emotions, including sexuality, and the ability to be creative and to express ourselves.

3: Solar Plexus Chakra Color Meaning (Manipura)

Color: Yellow

Yellow Solar Plexus Chakra.

Located at the upper stomach area, just below the rib cage in the middle. This is connected to intelligence and self-control, the ability to delay gratification.

4: Heart Chakra Color Meaning (Anahata)

Color: Green

Green Heart Chakra.

Located in the chest and heart area. As expected its meanings are linked to love, romance and the ability to show and receive compassion.

5: Throat Chakra Color Meaning (Vishudda)

Color: Blue

Blue Throat Chakra.

Location, is primarily the base of the throat. This is related to being honest, and generally our ability to communicate.

6: Third Eye Chakra Color Meaning (Ajna)

Color: Indigo

Indigo Third Eye Chakra.

Location, the centre of the forehead, in-between the eyes. Its meaning is related to our primary five sensors, as well as intuition. Well developed intuition allows us to see things that our eyes cannot pick up on.

7: Crown Chakra Color Meaning (Sahasrara)

Color: Violet or White

Violet Crown Chakra.

Location, is just above the top of your head. This is linked to our soul, it’s actually outside of the body above your head. Its meanings are also connected to spirituality and general enlightenment.

Creating Balance


This is very much connected to the balance of our survival instincts, when unbalanced, anxieties can become a problem. It can result in paranoia and a desire to be unseen, perhaps keep hidden. Survival instincts generally become over active.

Creating Balance

Make sure you dedicate some time to taking the proper precautions and security measures, this will help to ease your anxieties and feelings of unease in this matter. Using positive affirmations can also be very effective at reducing anxiety and bringing balance.


When this chakra is unbalanced someone can struggle with impulsive pleasures and instant gratification. This is also referred to as reward sensitivity. If too active it can also lead to problems with various types of addiction.

Creating Balance

Make a conscious effort to focus on delayed gratification, and understand the negative consequences of only seeking impulsive pleasures.

Solar Plexus/Manipura

The Solar Plexus Chakra is believed to be related to issues of self-esteem. When out of balanced, or sometimes described as being blocked it can result in either minor or major self-esteem issues.

Imbalances in this chakra can also cause issues with controlling anger, and a person can become temperamentally disagreeable, irritable, and aggressively competitive.

Creating Balance

One way to counter the self-esteem issue is to use positive confidence building affirmations. Perhaps a better technique would be to really think about and objectify your negative thinking, including anger. When you objectify something, it takes away some of the power it has over you. This will hopefully unblock and balance this chakra.

Self-awareness is also essential for attaining balance. Relaxation and meditation techniques can help, especially when trying to reduce anger and aggression.


An over active heart chakra can lead to showing too much compassion for others, and neglecting yourself and your own needs. It can also result in poor decisions and emotional control in matters of love.

Creating Balance

Spend some time thinking about what you want for yourself. Once you have figured out what you want, make an effort to go out and get it. Understand that the better and stronger you are as an individual, the greater help to others you will be.


Over activity in this chakra can lead to being perhaps aggressively vocal, not allowing others to speak, showing arrogance in their tone of voice and generally being over assertive.

Creating Balance

Again self-awareness is a good first step, awareness of how you make others feel. Making a conscious effort to showing some humility will go a long way and help to bring balance.

The Third Eye/Ajna

If the third eye chakra is more or over active, then someone is relying too much on gaining information from their spiritual, psychic or intuitive side. They won’t be living in the now or paying attention to the information that they get from their five sensors. This can lead to impractical, even delusional thinking.

Creating Balance

Make a conscious effort to take in information from the five senors, and to experience that information. Live more in the now or moment, and pay attention to details and subtle changes and differences.


The crown chakra is linked to different levels of consciousness. The balance of the crown chakra is dependent on the state of the other 6 chakras. To achieve higher levels of consciousness, the other chakras need to be balanced.

When chakras are less active or more dormant they can also be problematic, the key here is balance which creates a healthier mind and body and overall stability.

Similar Posts